Ninety six nations worked well through the qualifying process to qualify for the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Many different qualification paths open to interested teams. There had been twenty slots open in total for teams dreaming to contend in the tournament phases. Twelve teams automatically qualified due to their high ranking positions (best 3 placed teams in all of 4 pools) in the last (2011) Rugby World Cup.

Additional eight qualifying positions were available through regional qualifying tournaments; coming from America, Africa, Asia, Europe as well as Oceania. 1 final team was then selected via a Repechage qualification stage, comprised of a few of the highest position non-qualifiers coming from every region.


Twenty teams taken part in the tournament, having the first phase being split into 4 pools.

Every team was needed to play a single match against one another in another teams inside their own pool, in order that the final results of every pool were decided upon the outcome of 10 games in total. The best 2 teams coming from every group managed to get through to the quarter final levels of the competition, and also ensuring qualification for the 2019 World Cup, while the 3rd place team got eliminated, however guaranteed a position for the following world cup as well.

  • Pool A comprised: Australia, England, Fiji, Wales and Uruguay.
  • Pool B comprised: Japan, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa and the United States.
  • Pool C comprised: Argentina, Georgia, Namibia, New Zealand and Tonga.
  • Pool D comprised: Canada, France, Ireland, Italy and Romania.


During the knockout phases of the competition, the teams played out only one match towards their specified opponents.

The particular winner of this match was permitted to move on into the next phase, while the losing team was eliminated from the competition. The losers on the semi-finals played out once again to get the 3rd place.

In the quarter-final stage, the winner of Pool A (Australia) challenged the Runner-Up of Pool B (Scotland), the Winner of Pool B (South Africa) challenged the Runner-Up of Pool A (Wales), the Winner of Pool C (New Zealand) competed the Runner-Up of Pool D (France), and then the Winner of Pool D (Ireland) competed the Runner-Up of Pool C (Argentina).

On the quarter finals; South Africa defeat Wales to be on to play New Zealand, who got defeated by France; and Argentina defeat Ireland to continue to take on Australia, who had defeated Scotland on their quarter final. The last ended up having New Zealand against Australia, while South Africa and Argentina continued to compete one another on the Third Place playoff which ended up South Africa won 24 – 13.


The final offered an exciting climax to the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

As old enemies Australia and New Zealand challenged off against one another once again. Though New Zealand ended up being the winner of the match having a score of 34 -17, the competition was indeed a fantastic spectacle for all fans. Having 5 tries in total in between both teams, the match experienced a new record for the maximum number of tries in the Rugby World Cup Final.

Upon obtaining success, New Zealand became the very first team to competently defend their World Cup title, having already successful the World Cup during 2011. It was their 3rd World Cup in total, but it really was their very first title to be won in foreign soil.

Organizers were happy with the entire level of fan support for the competition, with all of games following the pool stages getting more than 70,000 fans each one in the stadiums. Ticket numbers present that 80,125 people went to the final in Twickenham. Seeing figures indicated that approximately 120 million people viewed the match live in television.
About RWC 2015

RWC 2015 are remembered for a range of reasons including spectacular tries, exciting contests and memorable team performances with having such events in abundance. The overall high quality and positivity of rugby on.

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google